Writing 101, Day One: Unlock the Mind

I actually did this when it first appeared in my email.  Instead of going to look for it in one of my many notebooks, I’ll just do it again!  I know the first time I did this, it was simply a very long list of the things I needed to do. I’m sure I could cross a few things off that list and add a hundred more, but the looming to dos don’t seem to be what comes to mind.

Earlier tonight, I decided to clean out my inbox and unsubscribe to a few things when I came across the Writing 201 workshop. Great I thought, I haven’t even finished 101 yet!  I clicked the link and registered for Writing 201.  Even though 101 is not prerequisite, I feel compelled to do 101 first!

Why do we feel the need to do things in order? 

I’m thinking I need to do all of 101 before Monday so I can be caught up before beginning 201.  My nature is that if I don’t get it done, I can’t begin the new workshop!  I didn’t pay for the workshop and it’s not some kind of requirement so why do I do this to myself.  I probably won’t get it all done before Monday, in fact I most likely won’t even come back to do Day 2.

My twenty minutes of free writing are up and I have to go to bed, but this is the most I have written in forever!  I hope I will start 201 on Monday , even if I don’t get 101 done! 

Maybe sometimes we need to just start improving from this moment instead of waiting to catch up before we can move forward.

Categories: ADHD, OCD, Post A Day, Self Improvement, Writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

